Ripples in the Water.

Taylor J. Bottles
3 min readJan 25, 2021

I went for a walk the other day as it rained. As I walked, I crossed a bridge that expanded over a small creek. I watched rain droplets hit the surface of the water in a chaotic but rhythmic form. Like the way fire works explode in the sky; hundreds of tiny explosions all canvasing into one magnificent view. As the droplets hit, I watched as the ripples flowed into one another. How they crossed over into multiple other ripples. Each wave impacting that of its neighbor. I then saw leaves passing through the stream being nudged and re-routed by each ripple. It was a beautiful symphony of elements.

That’s when I realized this is how I am connected to everyone and everything around. I started to visualize the ripples as energy. A strong word here, a violent action there, a smile to a passing stranger, or an aggressive honk in in traffic. All droplets, creating ripples. Each ripple effecting the energy of those around us. It’s clandestine in its nature. Most of us don’t even realize it’s happening. We take our step forward, and don’t see the impact it has on those around us. Positive, or negative. I started to recollect my actions recently, and I saw each one, in all their various forms, and the immediate outcome they have had on me, and in-turn the outcome they have had or could have on those I have interacted with —

What I eat.

--

--